In which my computer sends me a message…

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h“It’s Tuesday tomorrow. Just write something down,” I tell myself. I had already opened up a blank page in my blog and was waiting for inspiration to strike.

But it wasn’t.

And just as I start to write down my thought, trying the trick of getting something, anything, on the page, I notice a message over to the side:

Screen Shot 2018-11-12 at 7.51.25 PM.png

Um, yeah, I know that. That’s kind of the problem actually. And what’s with the two exclamation points, one of them highlighted in red!? That seems a bit over the top. I haven’t been sitting here for that long.

I sit back and stare at the screen. What is going on here? I wonder if I wait around for a bit longer, if another message will appear. Maybe a more helpful one. Maybe my computer will suggest a writing idea, like: “Try writing about visiting the beach today and how you watched the seals cavorting off shore.” (I think cavorting is the type of word that would appeal to this computer. It already strikes me as a pompous, somewhat judgmental and overexcitable sort–I mean, really. Two exclamation points!?!) Or maybe it would suggest “Write about the new restaurant you tried today and how you and your husband shamelessly eavesdropped on the adjacent table.” (There’s that judgy side again.)

I wait. Neither inspiration nor a random computer message strikes.

The minutes continue to pass and nothing happens. Apparently, that initial message is the sum total of my feedback. I feel a bit disgruntled. I mean, if my computer is going to start communicating with me, is going to send a message, at least it should make it worthwhile! Unfortunately, this computer apparently has nothing else to say. It only wants to point out the problem, not offer a solution. There’s always a critic, right?

Well, I know one way to take care of that. I lean forward and click on the “x” in the corner of the message. It disappears. Hmmm, that feels better.

I settle in to write.

 

22 thoughts on “In which my computer sends me a message…

  1. Wow! That’s crazy. Sometimes I worry the “machines” are watching us. LOL! I’m glad it gave you a slice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. humbleswede says:

    This is great. You turned the random into a writing inspiration…and it may lead to others. In fact, it would be sort of like a game. Maybe someone will invent an app that generates little annoying inspirations. I had a similar experience when my computer at school pooped out a message saying its memory was low. I wrote down a few mini memories of times with my computer (remember the time you crashed and I lost m report card comments? Ahh. memories!). My computer never thanked me, either.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Who knows who your computer reported to about your delay in writing!?! I imagine my computer would have lots of stories to tell!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      That could be an interesting piece as well–My writing process from the point of view of my computer. “Oh, geez! There she goes again, deleting that whole scene…” lol

      Like

  4. cmargocs says:

    Your technological prompt worked, after all! And I am all for the use of “cavorting” whenever and wherever it fits.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. margaretsmn says:

    Ah, I love your sense of sarcasm with your computer. I didn’t even open the page yet, so you’re way ahead of me in that game. I hope you will write a poem about the cavorting seals.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Been there!! I sit to write by hand in my journal for fifteen minutes. When nothing comes, I scroll back in my day hour by hour, not for brilliance, but for a spark. Some days you get the bear and some days the bear gets you. Davy Crockett.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I like the idea of scrolling back through your day, hour by hour, looking for a spark. I don’t think I’ve ever been quite that organized about it, but I’m definitely going to try that sometime when I’m seeking inspiration. Thanks!

      Like

  7. Joanne Toft says:

    OH this is great – when Micro soft word fist stated they had a little icon that popped up that talk to you just like this little message. It really just told you what you already knew. The New York Time magazine just has an article about it. So funny!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Christine says:

    I’m not sure if I think your message is cool or scary! But I do know that turning that message into a post is quite clever! Kudos to you for getting your writing done.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Debbie Lynn says:

    I’ve never seen that message before. Weird isn’t it…when ‘the machines’ try to communicate with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ok. Just scary. Very 1984-ish!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment