Hollyhocks

unnamedI’ve been delighted by the hollyhocks in my garden this summer. Over the years, they have appeared in my garden intermittently, varying in height and color. In the spring I’m thrilled when I see those tell-tale leaves, anticipating the glory of the blooming flowers, thrusting high above the garden.

This summer the hummingbird visits the hollyhocks most mornings. It hovers before a blossom. Darts in. Retreats. Hovers again. It moves to a tightly furled blossom. Hovers. Moves on. Even though I know its wings move in figure 8 patterns, I can’t see them. Nor can I capture his rapid flight in a picture. I’ve stopped trying now and simply enjoy watching him. Sometimes his small body bumps into a blossom, dislodging golden pollen which falls into small piles, or tumbles down the blossom to drift through the air. When he flits to the other side of the plant, I watch his shadow through the delicate petals. I often think how lovely it must be to dine on nectar in dew-drenched pink blossoms on a summer morning!

DSCN5177.jpg

In summer’s garden
Hollyhock buds purse pink lips
waiting for sun’s kiss

©2018 M. Hogan

Under sun’s caress
Hollyhock petals unfurl
welcome hummingbirds

©2018 M. Hogan

DSCN5176

DSCN5171.jpg

Hollyhock’s Ambition

Hollyhock builds a ladder to the sky
Holding a star within each blossom
she creates a universe
for hummingbirds and bees

©2018 M. Hogan

DSCN5169 (1).jpg

This week Heidi Mordhorst is hosting the Poetry Friday Roundup at her blog, My Juicy Little Universe. She’s sharing some fantastic poetic adventures in Chicago. Make sure to stop by for some great ideas and to enjoy links to more poetry!

18 thoughts on “Hollyhocks

  1. margaretsmn says:

    We do not have hollyhocks in the deep south. I loved seeing them when I was in upstate NY a few years ago. I marveled at their size and colors. Love your description of the hummingbird’s movements and your small poems. They take me to your garden with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maryleehahn says:

    I. Want. Hollyhocks. They were EVERYWHERE in Amsterdam. So happy. I love love love your poems!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tabatha says:

    “She creates a universe” — beautiful, just like your garden! (I’m not sure I can tell hollyhocks and hibiscus apart. Are hollyhocks the only ones with multiple flowers on stalks?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      Hollyhocks and hibiscus are related, Tabatha. (And, yes, I did have to look that up!) I always think of hibiscus as more tropical, and I’m not sure if they even grow in Maine. (In other words, I don’t know the answer to your question! lol)

      Like

  4. Wow! Gorgeous flowers, gorgeous photos, gorgeous description of hummingbird’s moves. I like all your poems but I see the first two as one. The third is my favorite: a ladder to the sky!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      Thanks, Heidi! I thought about having those first two as a single poem. I think I kept them separate because I wrote them that way, but I may just revise that. I appreciate the feedback!

      Like

  5. Tara Smith says:

    Hollyhocks are one of my favorite flowers, and you captured so many of the reasons this is so in your collection of poems. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cvarsalona says:

    What a wonderful themed post, Molly. Your photos are stunning and the accompanying poems are a tribute to the natural world. I have never seen a hummingbird in flight but can visualize it through your voice. Would you like to offer one or more of these to “The Art of Summering” Gallery? I have not sent out the invitation yet but have been collecting digitals at #TheArtofSummering on Twitter. I like #1 and #3. Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hollyhocks are beautiful as yours are here Molly! your third poem reminds me of another climbing plant, the Moon Flower–I have one inching up higher and higher each day. I also like your ” purse pink lips
    waiting for sun’s kiss” in this poem. Hollyhocks are lovely to paint also, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      Oh, I love the sound of a Moon Flower. I’m going to have to check that out. I’ve often thought of planting a moon garden, but have never managed to translate the idea to a reality. A Moon flower sounds like it would be the perfect addition!

      Like

  8. Gasp! what lovely, lovely photos paired with your poem. A ladder of star-centers for hummingbirds. Such a summer image.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful poems. Love the stardust on that last photo.

    Like

  10. haitiruth says:

    Lovely!

    Like

Leave a comment