Geese

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hFor the past several years the pair of geese have come. When I travel south on Route 295, I see the adults’ long necks and bodies amidst the grasses. I search to see the goslings’ heads. Sometimes I can’t see them, but can detect their wake in the movement of the grass as they trail along behind their parents. As they grow, I delight in watching their little heads bob up and down as they hurry along.

This year I’d seen only one solitary goose, standing sentinel in the grass, looking away from the busy traffic toward the marsh. Where was his mate?  Was he watching out, protecting her? Or was he awaiting her arrival? Do partnered geese travel together when they migrate, or do they just meet up to mate and raise their young? Had something happened to her?

I worried for the goose this year. He looked so lonely silhouetted against the bleak marsh. Of course, I really didn’t know if it was the male or the female, but for some reason, I was convinced it was the male. I detoured from my regular route to check in on him from time to time, and found him always still alone. I expressed my concern to my husband, who looked at me as if I’d lost my mind.

Then last week, I drove that way again, and there were two of them. Two adult geese, standing side by side in the grass down the slope from the busy road. Had she been there all along, but hidden on a nest? Were there any babies about? I detected no movement in the grass around them, but my heart lifted that the one goose was no longer alone–or perhaps never had been.

I think I’ll drive that way this morning again. Just to check in.

18 thoughts on “Geese

  1. jcareyreads says:

    I love how this little detour has brought you joy, that you’ve come to care about the geese and their relationships. What we see when we open our eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I was mightily relieved when the “female” showed up! Our town’s Facebook page has been filled with chatter and concern about a local osprey nest that was removed by power line workers. Apparently people call the two osprey, Ozzie and Harriet. I’m going to have to think of names for “my” geese!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. dogtrax says:

    Great observation of the natural world, and the wonder that comes with it. That goose found another, and in doing so, gave you a story to tell.
    Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  3. margaretsmn says:

    I love that you look out for geese. My parents live on a lake and have been sharing with me the progress of the goose couple they are watching. The babies hatched. Seven of them. They called me like it was a child birth announcement. Nature is a miracle.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We have mallards in our vernal pond. The males with their green heads are easy to spot, but, man oh man, can mom be tough to see unless we wait and wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mukhamani says:

    Life is like this, we keep wondering about seemingly small things, but they are not small. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dmsherriff says:

    This slice embodies what it means to live like a writer – you said you were struggling to write, yet you continued to live like a writer – noticing the goose day after day and wondering day after day. You let your wonderings take you on a visit and then your observations and wonderings fell onto the page as a beautiful piece of writing that reminds us all to observe, and WRITE! thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      Thanks! I’ve definitely been feeling unhappy with my writing lately–out of the groove and a bit irritated by myself. Your comment is welcome–so lovely and optimistic!

      Like

  7. Not silly at all! I have a pair of swans that live on a pond nearby and when I don’t see them during my morning commute, I panic!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Alice Nine says:

    I’m so glad that you finally saw the pair together. Isn’t it interesting how we “watch out” for wildlife that live along our daily “pathways”? I laughed at your husband’s response… I think mine would have done likewise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I love watching out for them! I’ve recently met a pair of turtles on one of my new frequent walking paths, and they encourage me to visit each day–I’m pretty sure they look forward to seeing me, too–well, at least that’s how I’m interpreting their sudden dives into water off their little hummock. lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment