At Dawn

unnamed

At Dawn

The hours dangle before me
like ripe plums
sweet and full of promise

Rising early
I reach for one
and take a lusty bite

©2018 M. Hogan

I love rising early and greeting the day. Last weekend, on a very misty, moisty morning, I headed to the beach. It was delicious!

DSCN3598.jpg

DSCN3655.jpg

This week’s Poetry Friday Roundup is hosted by the warm and wonderful Brenda Harsham at her lovely blog, Friendly Fairytales. Make sure to stop by and enjoy this week’s dazzling assortment of poems.

15 thoughts on “At Dawn

  1. Wonderful comparison of time to a plum in the first stanza.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katswhiskers says:

    If dawn is a ripe plum, sunset is a red rose in full blowsy bloom. Alas, I cannot share your lust for early mornings. 😴 (But I love your skeletal bird claw driftwood.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. carwilc says:

    I am a morning person too. And I love the idea of hours as plums, ripe and juicy, and just waiting to be bitten. I’m jealous that you get to go to the beach whenever you want!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cvarsalona says:

    Molly, that poem mixed with your photos is just right for my Sense-sational Spring Gallery. You bring to the reading experience the senses of sight, taste, and touch. Would you like to package those and send them to me for the gallery? (invitation: http://beyondliteracylink.blogspot.com/2018/04/spring-salutations-with-invitation-to.html

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alice Nine says:

    I too love the early morning hours… and there are none better than the ones along the surf! Wonderful poem, Molly.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love your sensuous and juicy poem Molly, It feels very fresh, full of life and possibilities, lovely nature pics too, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. maryleehahn says:

    I’m with you in my love for early morning. Lucky you to have that misty moisty beach!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Myra GB says:

    Loving the “lusty bite” and those gorgeous photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment