SOLC 2018–Day 28: Currently

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

March 2018 SOLC–Day 28
A huge thank you to Two Writing Teachers for all that they do to create an amazing community of writers and a safe, welcoming space to write, learn, share and grow.
http://www.twowritingteachers.org

I’m turning back to a tried and true format as time for slicing/writing gets pinched by a crazy parent-teacher conference week.

Currently, I’m 

Drinking: coffee–my regular brew of about 4/5 decaf and 1/5 dark roast and my morning OJ with a dash of cranberry juice. It’s such a lovely color!

Planning: How to survive next week when the school board added an hour to each day to make up for one snow day. This moves our last day from a Monday to a Friday, but …yikes!  The word “brutal” comes to mind–again and again. And again.

Thinking: The final few days of this challenge are going to be tough! Even with this familiar and supportive structure, I feel like I’m trying to squeeze water from a stone this morning.

Wondering: Can I really take on a poetry challenge next month? I’ve been posting (either in Facebook groups or on my blog) almost every day for two full months now. On one level, I love it, but on another level ….Do I really want to keep up that pace? And next month starts on Saturday! How did that happen?

Feeling: tired, done, exhausted. After last week’s report cards and 12 after school parent-teacher conferences in the past two days, I feel wrung dry and hung out on the line.

Speaking of drying…
Listening to: a new ominous squeak from the dryer as it turns and rotates. (Do I need to call someone about that?)

Wishing: I could climb into the nest of warming clothes in the dryer, burrow into it like a small animal (maybe a mouse? lol)  and drift back off to sleep this morning.

Looking forward to: being done with a couple of potentially tough conferences this afternoon, and on a more positive note, to writing poetry with my students later this spring.

Loving: living in Maine. Always. I’m so thankful I live in a place that’s a little off the beaten path and rich with natural beauty. Even when snow still covers the ground in late March and icy winds torment us on recess duty, I still wouldn’t trade it. (Well, at least not long term.)

 

31 thoughts on “SOLC 2018–Day 28: Currently

  1. It’s a good format! You’ll make it through. I have no doubt. I love how you describe Maine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      Thanks, Melanie! It’s a nice format when you’re struggling for an idea. Trouble is, you can only use it once. What am I going to write tonight/tomorrow? lol

      Like

  2. dianeandlynne says:

    Love the format. I feel your pain too. I had a hard time with my slice today also. But your slice ends on a hopeful, upbeat note. So, you see, you’ll get through this (and the poetry challenge too, no doubt).

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I’m not sure it’ll be pretty, but I’m sure I’ll make it through this challenge. Not so sure about the poetry challenge! Good luck with these last few days!

      Like

  3. cindaroo42 says:

    I love how you end with wishing and looking forward to… It allows your post to end with hope, despite these crazy weeks of report cards, conferences, and long days!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. margaretsmn says:

    I feel you. I’ve been writing with you daily for two months. Can we do it another month? I am working on a plan to do ekphrastic art because that worked for me in February, but will it work again?
    This is a great format that I will probably have to use in the next few days. I am struggling this last week and it should be the easiest because I am on spring break.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I’ve loved writing with you the last two months, Margaret. I hope you’re having a wonderful break. Does your writing routine change a lot when you’re out of school?

      Like

      • margaretsmn says:

        I wish I had a routine. When I’m out of school I do have more time to play with ideas. I don’t feel as rushed to get a slice done. I’m hoping in April to write daily with my students.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Alice Nine says:

    This is a great format… and I can see it working with students (as well as with me). I’ve thought about doing it something with poetry in April beyond #PoetryFriday … but like you, Feb. and March have take so much time. I loved writing and reading and commenting and receiving comments… but it takes a chunk of time. For April, I’m toying with the idea of using my Feb drafts from our FB group to create blog posts that include snippets about my thinking and craft moves, about research, and about classroom possibilities. That would definitely be useful to me in future workshops/lessons and I’d feel better about the time committed to it. Plus I really want to preserve my Feb work. I already created 28 folders that have my research, photos, poem draft, as well as snapshots of the comments left on my draft on FB. Some of those are so helpful. What do you think, Molly? What is the poetry challenge are you considering for April?

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I love the idea of your preserving your February work and of sharing more insight into your thinking, craft moves, etc. I’m so impressed that you already have so much organized in folders. Wow! I wasn’t sure if I was going to do anything official or not in April, but I did ask my students to put words or ideas in a jar. I said I’d try to write a poem a day with those, and I’m hoping some of them might join in. Perhaps I’ll dabble in challenges rather than committing to another daily writing/posting challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Alice Nine says:

        I created and maintained the folders in Feb, thinking I might use some of it for a workshop some day. Do you have any recommendations for a poetry challenge to dabble in or join?

        Liked by 1 person

  6. dmsherriff says:

    What a great slice! The opening with the coffee and juice sets me up to read in comfort. I get a bit uncomfortable with longer school days and the thought of challenging conferences. I think you will reenergize with your appreciation and love for the great state of Maine! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a good format and you use it well. I am right with you from your coffee through to the end. I hope your conferences this afternoon went well, and I love that you end with your love of Maine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yeah! I did one, too, but called it “At the moment…” I’m with you on moving right from a Feb challenge, to March, and now onto April. Yikes! We are flexing are writing muscles for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Of course those are “our” muscles, not “are” muscles. Tired!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. terierrol says:

    I love your post. The details you write bring it all to life. Hang in there. We are almost done with this challenge. I’m a Mainer living in northern NH, so great to be off the beaten path!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The drink mixes- delightful. The extra hour- brutal. The end of the challenge- we got this. You make me want to try a month of poetry. I am always a little bereft at the end missing other’s posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I really enjoyed writing poetry every day in February. I’m not sure what challenges are out there this April, but I bet you could find one that you’d enjoy. Or create your own! I do know what you mean about missing the community (even though I’m counting the days right now!).

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Cathy says:

    You’ve had quite the busy week. Did I see conferences AND report cards? I’d say you might want to flip that coffee to 4/5 dark roast and 1/5 decaf as a matter of survival. The great thing is, despite the busy, you still wrote. That’s a victory for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment