Spring is coming!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

March SOLC–Day 12

The birds seem frisky this morning. Bluejays dance across the lawn, posturing, wings fluttering, involved in some sort of elaborate avian flirting. A pair of cardinals swoops from arbor to apple tree and then zooms off into azure skies. The slate-colored juncos flash their bi-colored fantail of feathers and swoop and swirl. Even the sun rose enthusiastically today, splashing brilliant red on the horizon, blazing through the winter-bare trees.  Everything seems more energetic.  Spring is coming!  My eyes are drawn to the window again and again. I am yearning to get outside and join in the festivities but sternly remind myself that I need to be disciplined. Spring is coming but so are report cards. Sigh.

10 thoughts on “Spring is coming!

  1. I noticed similar details over the past week. Hoping you can carve out a little time to be out in the freshness that is Spring!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daylight Savings Time always makes spring more of a reality for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, you painted such a beautiful picture with words – I found myself wishing that I had written this piece! I am glad you had some time to notice and note, but a universal truth that certain deadlines, if not most deadlines, can pull us away from what we really want to do to spend time with report cards – and grading children was never my favorite thing to do. It is so good to know that Spring is coming soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed this, Lynne. The scene beyond my window has been tugging my attention away from work all day long! I’m losing the battle and heading outside for a while.

      Like

  4. Cindy says:

    You have such beautiful lines here “elaborate avian flirting” and “the sun rose enthusiastically today”. Thanks for saying such a “good morning” with this slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Love hearing all about those birds. Even the robins aren’t here yet. Although it’s warm, it’s way too early. We don’t have cardinals in CO, so I’m happy to hear about yours. Lovely description.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbhmaine says:

      Linda, when I first moved to Maine (about 20 years ago) there weren’t cardinals, or at least sighting one was a rare occasion. Now they’re ubiquitous and I, for one, always appreciate that splash of brilliant red against a bank of snow or in a green tree. Glorious!

      Like

  6. Melanie Roy says:

    You really did a great job bringing your outside world to life for your readers. I hope you did get a chance to get outside for some fresh air. Just like students need a “brain break” to be more productive, you need to give yourself that time too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment