Book Club

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

It’s another cold Saturday
after a long, trying Friday
but I rise from the nest of my bed
cheerfully
braving chilled wooden floors
anticipating warmth, laughter,
book talk, pastries,
candor and acceptance
We gather around Sue’s kitchen table

It’s book club today

Cutting for Stone
Mao’s Last Dancer
Bury Your Dead
To Kill a Mockingbird
When We Were The Kennedys

I am filled with gratitude for
this diverse group of
seriously fabulous women
who laugh with gusto
speak their truths and
value words and books
No game playing here
Vibrant women with grit
each with her own compelling story

The Paris Wife
The Art Forger
Orphan Train
Reconstructing Amelia
The Invention of Wings

Infused with a love of reading
our conversations meander
We share our ups and downs
commiserate, celebrate
share recent reads and vignettes from our lives
and sometimes we even have time for
insightful conversations about
the designated book.

Same Kind of Different As Me
All the Light We Cannot See
Everything I Never Told You

Mining the pages
of these many books
we’ve discovered
characters, history, culture,
images both haunting and profound
but richest of all
the glowing gem of connection
friendship
multifaceted
priceless.

It’s book club today.

1010057_10201502676474090_1562135228_n

998696_10201502684674295_1153498289_n

16 thoughts on “Book Club

  1. What a beautiful tribute to both your book club and to reading the books. I belong to a book club also and we read some of the books you have included in your poem. I love our discussions, whether we love the book or hate it, the camaraderie and conversations are things that I look forward to each month.

    Like

  2. franmcveigh says:

    I have loved book clubs – not reading a book currently for a club, but I need that back on my list as it provides me with a focus as well as “required” reading time!
    🙂

    Like

  3. newtreemom says:

    I’d love a book club like this. We tried one at school, but it didn’t take off. Most people didn’t have enough time to read the book…the meeting kept getting postponed. I had to read the book a second time before we finally met, I had read so many books in between.

    Like

  4. This book club seems to be very rewarding to you. You are lucky to have such an amazing group of women to share your love of books with and also to share a deep friendship with. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. janiceewing says:

    This sounds like a great group! I love the free verse form that you used — it was like a meandering conversation.

    Like

  6. Pat says:

    The book club meeting sounds like a great time. It is so good to share comments about the books. And pastries with conversation, I’ve read a couple on your list and want to read more. The book club I was in made a list of books to read. I read and we never met.

    Like

  7. spillarke says:

    I loved the Same Kind of Different as Me when I read it. I was wowed by their story. My favorite image is of pastries and candor and acceptance. Good community you’ve described there.

    Like

  8. raeily says:

    Sounds like a wonderful book club! I loved the flow of this poem.

    Like

  9. lynnjake says:

    Love this. What a great list of books, and a beautiful poem. We’ve read some of these same books in my book club. Do you read one book per month?

    Like

    • mbhmaine says:

      We met less frequently initially but now tend to meet a about once a month–maybe every 5 or so weeks. Sometimes life gets in the way and some of us don’t get to read the book, but we still meet. I love, love, love my book club! Did your club have a favorite recent read?

      Like

  10. Sonja Schulz says:

    loved, loved, loved your post. I just wish I had this experience. I am currently in a book club but haven’t had much luck making it to the meetings. you have definitely given me inspiration!

    Like

  11. Sue says:

    You nailed it!

    Like

  12. Erika Victor says:

    I loved your book club poem. I need to get back into a book club. Apparently there is one at my new school, but I have not been invited yet:/ Most of my reading is kid lit, but the occasional book for book club adds even more variety.

    Like

  13. BSoltero says:

    Sounds like you have a wonderful time with you book club ladies!! Reading this made me want to find my own book club…or maybe start one!! 😄

    Like

  14. Theresa says:

    It’s great that you have a book club. I always wanted to be a part of one. I’m VP of a writing group and it’s amazing. Glad you’re getting so much out of your club!

    Like

Leave a comment