A Road Well-Traveled

At the end of a winter
filled with a lifetime of
blizzards, brutal lows, and biting winds,
the roads buckle and heave,
pockmarked
bleached white
from the liberal application of salt.
Foundations crumble
revealing lines and cracks
Unexpected stress marks appear
overnight
and crisscross
like unsightly veins.

A woman of a certain age
can relate
to unexpected lumps
rising precipitously
from previously flat terrain
and the pitted dimpled tarmac
replacing erstwhile taut skin
She sympathizes
with the sudden appearance
of cracks and crumbling edges,
visible veins,
and the streaks of white or grey
on once dark surfaces
The patina of age.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hDay 19

5 thoughts on “A Road Well-Traveled

  1. jhaworthoy says:

    Wow…your wandering mind sure did make a unique connection. I sure can relate. Your use of words drew me to the end. Wonderful piece. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    Like

  2. tammyyoga says:

    Yes, I’m a woman of a certain age and can relate! Nice comparison!

    Like

  3. Samantha Marquardt says:

    I enjoyed the comparison you so poetically captured.

    Like

  4. showgem says:

    I really appreciated the connection to the weathered roads and the womant of a certain age. I too could connect to those thoughts and feelings. I loved the images you created with your words.

    Like

Leave a comment