Life in a first grade classroom–still laughing and shaking my head…

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h“Mrs. Hogan!  Mrs. Hogan!  Mrs. Hogan!” my first-grade student exclaimed, “I know everyone’s last name in the classroom except yours.”

“What?” I asked, slightly confused.

“I know everyone’s last name in the class except yours.” he repeated, still grinning with his accomplishment.

“But, B., you just said my last name.” I stated.

“What?” he asked, wrinkling up his nose and tilting his head to look up at me, clearly puzzled.

“You just said my last name,” I repeated, “when you said my name.”

“Mrs. Hogan?” he queried.

“Yes,” I said, “Hogan is my last name.”

“Oh,” he said, “I didn’t know that.”

I’m still shaking my head…and laughing…and shaking my head again…

4 thoughts on “Life in a first grade classroom–still laughing and shaking my head…

  1. “Mrs. Hogan” is clearly your given name! Funny. At least that’s how I understood the child’s thinking. I would have liked to have heard how you cleared this up with the student.

    Like

  2. Ms. Kelly says:

    That is funny. I guess Hogan could be a first name….similar to Logan

    Like

  3. elsie says:

    Out of the mouths of kids, keeps us laughing.

    Like

  4. So cute! Glad you wrote that one down. Sometimes they say the cutest things!!

    Like

Leave a comment