Dawn’s Sweet Tendernesses

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h.jpgIn February I participated (off and on) in Laura Shovan’s February Daily Poem Project. The group opted to continue writing together on a monthly basis. This month the challenge was to riff off Rainer Maria Rilke by writing a poem using the following 10 found words harvested from his poem, “Early Spring” : varnished, softness, meadows, rivulets, tendernesses, earth, subtle, risings, expression, and trees. Here’s my effort, including 7 out of the 10 words:

Dawn’s Sweet Tenderness

Dawn offers sweet tendernesses
as earth softly stirs
with subtle shifts of sound
from jaunty peepers’ chorus
to liquid silver birdsong
while the rising sun dips
gauzy clouds in sherbet hues
and rivulets of dew coalesce,
thinly streaming down grassy stems
into drowsy meadows
like yesterday’s tears

Molly Hogan (c) 2017

16 thoughts on “Dawn’s Sweet Tendernesses

  1. Amy Warntz says:

    Oh those jaunty peepers. They serenade me every evening into the morning dawn. Your poem brings a sense of serenity as I hustle and bustle frantically attempting to start my day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lorie Barber says:

    “liquid silver birdsong.”
    That’s really lovely. I’m listening to it outside my window right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. margaretsmn says:

    Such a rich poem of early morning imagery! I’m glad you are sharing it here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The “rivulets of dew” streaming “like yesterday’s tears.” The imagery is so spot on in this poem. I’m going to try that exercise…stealing words to use in my work. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my goodness, is that gorgeous! I’ve been revelling in the peepers’ chorus for weeks, and am already sad that it is ending. You also struck a chord with me, because I’ve been paying close attention lately to the dawn chorus and the order with which each species makes it’s grand entrance. Thank you for this.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. maryannreilly says:

    A provocative poem. The closing scene is powerful. You also helped me to hear spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. vanessaw2007 says:

    There are so many great lines in this poem… I’ll share my favorite
    “gauzy clouds in sherbet hues” Ahhhh…..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alice Nine says:

    Well done, Molly! I love the tone that finds full expression in your last two lines. I love the opening with dawn and the movement from earth to sky and back to earth ending with the disappearing tears that pulled me fully into it — cycles of life.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. karpenglish says:

    This sounds like a great exercise to do with a group. It would be fascinating to see how everyone approached the same ten words in different ways. I loved your poem. It gave me a nice lift.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

