Past, Present and Future

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

DSCN0436On Sunday we celebrated my youngest daughter’s graduation from high school and documented the occasion with scads of photographs. My favorite one is of all of my children. I look at their three faces and wonder where my babies have gone. Sometimes my arms ache for their warm little bodies and the soft weight of their drowsy heads resting on my shoulder. The next moment I’m fascinated (and sometimes frightened) by watching them navigate the world as young adults, making choices independently and choosing their own direction. And then sometimes I see flashes or hints of where they might be heading— a new maturity or a deepening interest. How intriguing it is that I miss who they were, while appreciating who they are, and anticipate who they are becoming.

6 thoughts on “Past, Present and Future

  1. I loved your closing line: “How intriguing it is that I miss who they were, while appreciating who they are, and anticipate who they are becoming.” Isn’t this what we all want as parents? I think you captured this sentiment so beautifully. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raeily says:

    I love that last line as well. I have a two year old and I am moved everyday by how she changes and grows. I don’t know what I will do at her High School Graduation except cry. Just seeing her be able to do things like clean up her toys or speak long sentences makes me cry. Haha,

    Anyway, beautiful picture. Your children are beautiful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tara Smith says:

    “I miss who they were, while appreciating who they are, and anticipate who they are becoming.”
    That’s what it’s all about-as a mother of three, this is what I connected to the most. Your post brought back so many memories! Congratulations to the graduate!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. danrothermel says:

    Congratulations to you all. Powerful and thoughtful ending. That said, the lead and the middle matched its eloquence. In this case, less is more.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a lovely slice! You’ve captured the conundrum of parents everywhere: missing our babies, yet being excited for them as they head out into a world of possibilities. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Amy says:

    Great post! You captured the feelings all parents go through at this stage. Congratulations on the graduation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

